FAQ

Frequently Asked Questions

What happens when war is declared with 3 players on a port?

Player 1 declares war on everyone on the port. Player 2 and 3 roll the die against each other. The winner of that roll will roll against player 1 (The one who declared war). The winner of that roll wins the war.

What happens when you lose a war?

When you lose a war, the winner of the war gets to keep their ship on the port, but the loser of the war has to remove their ship from the board and doesn’t get to keep it in their fleet.

What happens if you tie in a war?

If you tie in a war with your opponent, then you keep rolling the die until somebody wins the war.

Do the coins have to add up to 50 exactly in order to buy a ship?

No

The coins do not have to add up to 50 exactly, although you should try to get as close as you can to 50, so that you can be as efficient as possible with buying ships.

Collapsible content

Where do you start?

Start on the block that says "Set Sail"

What direction do you go?

Each player should move around the board clockwise.

What is the appropriate way to leave South America?

To leave South America, you must use the square above the continent, leading to Trinidad.

When moving between Rum Cay and Key West, is Florida a space?

No.

Collapsible content

Do ships return to your fleet after you lose a war?

No, after you lose a war, you lose all of the ships on that port and they go back into the bag.

Does playing with 3 people extend gameplay?

Yes, it usually does extend the amount of time a game takes to play, but it also doubles the fun. 3 Players completely changes the play dynamic.

Have Any Other Questions? Contact Us!